Randol Bass

  • Randol Bass


  • Randol Bass

    DCINY Composer-in-Residence

    Sunday, Nov 18, 2018


    Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage, Carnegie Hall
    The Music of Randol Bass 
    Bass: Carols from a Victorian Fireside, Mvmt II & III (World Premiere)
    Laus Nativitatis (World Premiere)
    Symphony of Carols ​
    Featuring Distinguished Concerts Orchestra and Distinguished Concerts Singers International
    Jonathan Griffith, DCINY Artistic Director and Principal Conductor
    Randol Bass, DCINY Composer-in-Residence


    Click Here to Audition Now.

    Audio Clips

    1. Gloria
    2. Gloria_3
    3. A Feast Of Carols
    4. A Feast of Carols_2
    5. A Feast of Carols_3
    6. A Feast of Carols_4
    7. A Feast of Carols_5
    8. A Feast of Carols_6
    9. Seasonal Sounds
    10. Seasonal Sounds_2
    11. Seasonal Sounds_3
    12. Seasonal Sounds_4

    Born in Fort Worth, TX in 1953, Randol Bass was raised in Midland, TX — studying piano, working in community theater, playing various instruments and singing with local ensembles, including the Midland-Odessa Symphony. A longtime student of choral conducting, Mr. Bass earned his Bachelors Degree in 1976 from the University of Texas at Austin, a Master of Music degree in Choral Conducting in 1980 from the College-Conservatory of Music in Cincinnati and pursued doctoral studies in choral and wind conducting at both Ohio State University’s Robert Shaw Institute and UT-Austin.

    Mr. Bass, the composer-arranger, has achieved an impressive array of performances and commissions by highly-respected and prestigious ensembles; among these: the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the National Symphony of Washington, DC, the Philadelphia Orchestra and the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. His Gloria setting, now widely performed worldwide, was premiered at Carnegie Hall in 1990 by the New York Pops under the baton of Skitch Henderson; his Holiday arrangement Joy To the World; A Fanfare for Christmas Day has been recorded by the Boston Pops Orchestra under the direction of Keith Lockhart.

    Mr. Bass also contributed a setting of Conquest of Paradise (Vangelis) to the 2000 CD Boston Pops release Summon the Heroes — under the baton of eminent film composer John Williams. He has also arranged an extensive Christmas cantata, Glad Tidings, commissioned and recorded in the early 2000s by the Houston Symphony and Chorus and featuring a narration performed by former President George H. W. Bush.

    Additionally, his choral works have been performed by the Tanglewood Chorus, the Grand Rapids Symphony and Chorus, the Dallas Symphony and Chorus, The Colorado Symphony and Chorus and the Los Angeles Master Chorale as well as numerous other orchestras and choruses throughout the U. S. and Europe.

    In February of 2008, Mr. Bass completed a sizable recording project as guest conductor of the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus. The resulting album is a collection of his arrangements and original compositions, including a large-scale work commissioned by the Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus titled: Passage Into Spirit. The centerpiece of the album, this work is an expansive 30-minute oratorio for large orchestra and chorus, based on poetry selected by the composer from Leaves of Grass, by Walt Whitman.

    Mr. Bass, the performer, has sung with the Dallas Symphony Chorus and, during the summer of 1996, participated in their Israeli tour – singing second tenor in several performances of Mahler’s Symphony #8, under the baton of Zubin Mehta. Recently, he also performed as solo pianist with the Maîtrise de Saint Leonard Orchestra in Fougères, France in performances of Dohnanyi’s Variationen über ein Kinderlied and Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue.

    For the past 20 years, Randol Bass has served as Music Director and Conductor of the Metropolitan Winds, a community-based civic wind ensemble which performs numerous times a year in the DFW metroplex — often at the famed Meyerson Symphony Center in downtown Dallas. He also founded a civic wind-ensemble in his hometown of Austin, TX, called the Waterloo Wind Band – which is now entering its 5th season of concertizing.

    An ambitious recording project with the National Symphony and Tallis Chamber Choir in London has been commerically released as the Christmas CD collection: A Feast Of Carols, consisting entirely of Holiday material composed, arranged and conducted by the composer. This album is available from Barnes & Noble, Amazon.com and other noted recording retailers.

    Continuously active since the 1970s as a vocal and instrumental arranger, composer and conductor of ensemble music, Mr. Bass is now focusing his talents on original composition, due largely to increased demand for his music in both the US and abroad.